Rockhopper penguin, Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands are an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean consisting of two main Islands (East and West Falkland) and 778 smaller islands. At various times, the islands have had French, British, Spanish, and Argentine settlements. Britain reasserted its rule in 1833, although Argentina maintains its claim to the islands. The Falklands are home to five different penguin species, and the rockhopper penguin is pictured on this postcard.

Falkland Islands postcard

Falkland Islands stamps

I also have an envelope from Falkland Islands with these awesome stamps:

Falkland Islands stamps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *